All motorcycle owners in Ohio must carry minimum amount of auto insurance or be able to proof of financial responsibility. Failure to do so can result in significant penalties. The Bureau of Motor Vehicles provides on its website: “If you don’t have vehicle insurance, you can’t drive in Ohio!”
Minimum Motorcycle Insurance Requirements in Ohio
Like all states, in order to protect others on the road, Ohio needs to ensure that you have the means to cover damages if you are ever involved in an accident. Most people meet the state’s financial responsibility requirements by carrying auto insurance.
The minimums for motorcycle insurance are the same as they are for other motor vehicles in Ohio. In order to legally operate a motorcycle in the state, you must carry at least the following coverages.
- $25,000 for bodily injury to or death of one individual in any one accident
- $50,000 for bodily injury to or death of two or more individuals in any one
- $25,000 for injury to the property of others in any one accident
For a free legal consultation, call (614) 538-1116
Other Ways to Show Financial Responsibility
In lieu of carrying motorcycle insurance, the state also permits you to prove your financial responsibility in several other ways.
- You can purchase a $30,000 bond with an authorized surety or insurance company.
- You can obtain a certificate of proof of financial responsibility signed by an insurance agent a specific Ohio BMV form.
- You can apply for a certificate of bond with the BMV in the amount of $30,000 that is signed by two people who own real estate with $60,000 or more of equity.
- You can apply for a certificate of self-insurance issued by the BMV, if you have more than 25 motor vehicles registered in their name.
Penalties for Failing to Carry Motorcycle Insurance
The Registrar of Motor Vehicles will impose the following penalties if you are caught riding without insurance and cannot provide proof of financial responsibility.
- A 2-year driver’s license suspension
- Suspension of your license plate and motorcycle registration
- Reinstatement fees from $150 to $650 depending upon the number of prior offenses
- Requirement to file insurance for a three to five year period in the form of a SR-22 or a bond
- Impoundment of the motorcycle for 30 to 60 days for first or second offenses. (“Third and subsequent offenses could result in vehicle forfeiture and a 5-year suspension of vehicle registrations,” cautions the BMV.)
More Topics of Interest for Ohio Motorcyclists
For more interesting and informative articles, check out Bressman Law’s blog. And for legal questions and concerns, you are welcomed to call the office at 614-538-1116 to schedule a free consultation.