Ohio law requires anyone with knowledge of a dog bite to report it within 24 hours. According to Ohio Administrative Code 3701-3-28, if a dog, or any other mammal, bites you, you should fill out a bite incident report and file it with the health commissioner in the district where the bite occurred.
Ohio law further maintains that if you do not file the bite report, then your healthcare provider or a veterinarian with knowledge of the bite must do so. Meanwhile, if you were bitten by a dog and have questions, call a dog bite lawyer at Bressman Law. We offer FREE consultations.
This post will explain how to make the bite incident report and what you should include in the report.
Where to file your report and how it can help
If the bite occurred in Franklin County, you may report the bite to the following agencies:
- Animal Care & Control
- Columbus Health Dept. (if in Columbus or Worthington)
- Franklin County Public Health (any other location in Franklin Co.)
This report may be compelling evidence if you decide to file a lawsuit. Nevertheless, many people fail to file these reports because they are unaware of the requirement or do not know how to file the report.
For a free legal consultation, call (614) 538-1116
What to include in the dog bite report
Include the following information in the bite incident report:
- A description of the dog that bit you
- The name(s) and contact information of the animal’s owner(s)
- The name of the person bitten (your name, for example)
- The location where the bite took place
- How the bite happened
What happens to the dog after filing a bite incident report?
A lot of people hesitate to report dog bites because they fear the dog will be put to sleep. But making a dog bite incident report does not mean the dog will automatically be put to sleep.
Once the health commissioner receives your bite incident report, the health department will perform a rabies exposure risk assessment. Per Ohio Administrative Code 3701-3-29, Officials may quarantine the dog and observe it for signs of rabies. The quarantine may occur at a kennel or pound, but in many cases occurs at the owner’s home, with the owner reporting signs of rabies to the health commissioner. The quarantine lasts for at least 10 days.
If the dog’s owner is unknown–such as in the case of stray dogs–then the health commissioner may order it killed and examined for signs of rabies, as its rabies vaccination status will likely be unknown.
Click to contact our personal injury lawyers today
How a dog bite lawyer from our firm can help you with your case
From filing an incident report to dealing with your injuries, taking legal action to recompense your medical bills and other related expenses might seem overwhelming. Let our dog bite lawyers take over your case while you focus on your recovery. Some of the ways we can assist you include:
- Filing the necessary paperwork (e.g., the incident report) on your behalf
- Collecting evidence (e.g., photos of your injuries)
- Talking to witnesses
- Managing communication with the other party and their team
- Negotiating a settlement
We can update you on the status of your case, including what will happen to the dog that bit you.
You can file a lawsuit for a dog bite accident
If you think that filing a civil suit would be the best option for you, you can count on us to help you with this task. Under Ohio Revised Code (ORC) §2305.10, you typically have two years to file a personal injury lawsuit and around two years to file a wrongful death lawsuit if you lost your loved one due to a dog bite, according to ORC §2125.02.
Make sure you comply with this deadline. Otherwise, the state of Ohio will bar you from pursuing compensation for any of your damages. Given adequate notice, we can help you file your lawsuit.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Report your dog bite right away and get the legal help you need
If you are injured by a dog bite, hire an attorney on our team to help with your case. Call Bressman Law today to learn more about your rights to fair and adequate compensation. We offer a FREE initial consultation to discuss the details of your case, and we do not collect a fee unless we recover compensation for you. Call to get started today.
Call or text (614) 538-1116 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form